Skip to content

Schooner, New Haven *Summer Camp

 back to summerHaven

website

February 2013.  Schooner camps are fantastic, both during school vacations and summer. They focus on marine life/biology and the ecology of the Long Island sound. My daughter drags us to the wetlands to find crabs, and she has always preferred their arts and crafts over Common Ground. (which is great also, but very hot in summer. It’s nicer to hang out on the sound it’s a bit cooler). Schooner camps are so educational and fun I send my daughter there each year for two weeks, and this year my son gets to go as well. they have now presechooler camps (starting age 4 I believe). I heart Schooner! Oh and the people are so amazing and dedicated as well, and very responsive. Hester H. parent

Sept 2011.  Fabulous.  My 6 yo daughter went early in the summer and had very enthusiastic college students working with her. Lots of time at the beach having fun and learning a lot about marine biology in a very kid friendly way (i.e Duck Duck Goose was played as Clam Clam Spit). Very happy with it and will definitely return next year. She is still singing the song “I’m a little jellyfish, I will sting you if I wish..” 3 months later. The only complaint she had was that she didn’t have a touch tank in her actual classroom. She was able to handle plenty of sea animals at the beach though.  Anonymous, parent

Print Friendly
3 Comments Post a comment
  1. schooner parent #

    My 10 year old is in his second week. He learned this summer that he loves to sail. Knows all the parts of the small sail boat and his bathing suit has all sorts of knots he keeps practicing outside of camp!

    July 2, 2012
  2. sjbj #

    Our son loved Schooner Camp this summer. But the administration just is not very responsive at all. Case in point–we paid an extra $10 to get a CD of photos of our son at camp. We never got the photos, despite numerous phone messages and email. They just don’t respond.

    September 17, 2012
  3. sjbj – so sorry for the lack of response. We tried to get everyone refunded for the photos as the system with our online registration program just didn’t work well for Schooner or our parents. We hope that you try us again – give me a call and we can talk through any questions that you might have at 203-815-5046.

    February 11, 2014

Leave a Reply

You may use basic HTML in your comments. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS