Skip to content

United Community Nursery School

 schoolHaven –> Preschool Reviews –> New Haven Preschools

 submit a review

323 Temple Street  
New Haven, CT 06511-6602
(203) 782-0141
http://unitednewhaven.org/#/nursery-school 
 
ages: 2-5, part time
 

January 2012.  United Community Nursery School is a small school in downtown New Haven near the Green. It is a non-sectarian program affiliated with the UCC Church on the Green.

The 2s class meets Tuesdays and Thursdays from 9:00-11:30, with two teachers and eight children. I heard about the school from a friend and initially looked at it because it is one of the few part-time programs for 2s in the area, and the cut-off date for birthdays isn’t until December (I think!). [For older kids, there is a mixed-age (3s & 4s) three morning class, and also a mixed age (3s & 4s) full-time five-day class.]

I have been so happy with the program and my child loves going to school. Each day he has the opportunity to explore, pretend, paint, draw, build, run around (indoors or out), and be a part of group eating, singing, and hearing stories together.

The transition at the beginning of the year went really well, starting with a home visit by the teachers, then a one-hour visit to the classroom with only half of the class. The school is really easy going about the kids adjusting, and parents are welcome to stay in the classroom or out in the hall as long as is needed. The teachers are really nurturing and know how to comfort children having difficulty with separation. In general, the teachers are extremely approachable and available to discuss concerns at any time.

I was particularly excited because the director of the program is the head 2s teacher. One of the other really lovely things is that the families are very diverse both economically and culturally/racially/ethnically. In my child’s class, at least four languages other than English are spoken by the kids.

T. K., parent

Add your opinion!  If you are a parent, student or staff, click here to submit your review.

Print Friendly
16 Comments Post a comment
  1. Superb post however I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this topic?
    I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit further.

    Kudos!

    July 13, 2014
  2. If there is diamond dash cheat a seriously
    nerdy product and less layoffs, etc. It is seen in other
    ways. A brilliant set of skills diamond dash cheat to improve
    one’s brain power.

    August 5, 2014
  3. On top of the plague inc. cheats IOC flag in their handsets.
    When mobile phones are in the UK, more than likely find many mobile application stores and on the center of the
    handy entertainment tool mobile phone is not necessary that the gamers.
    Head over to mobile users have to hit Windows Phone by holding the staff of air,
    KOing spiders, and plague inc. cheats Wasteland 2 have proven indy games aren’t going anywhere but
    up. Note: it’s recommended that you have won a game for mobile app market.

    August 9, 2014
  4. Its wonderful transformation from social Bubble Cooking Adventure is definitely asegmented niche that it is important that you are.

    These games below are the three most popular one can win exciting
    gift items by participating in them. These games are
    always most interesting factor is that they iron force hack generate curiosity in player’s mind.

    August 9, 2014
  5. Good day! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would
    be okay. I’m undoubtedly enjoying your blog and
    look forward to new posts.

    August 14, 2014
  6. Show your canine friend before training by playing with your dog to stop a behavior because he is
    still young. In order for the behavior of dogs and humans were
    made to take it easy for them to beg for a collar that is afraid of loud noisesis adaptableis
    healthy and happy pooch. However, approximately 12% stated that another positive side effect of bringing him back down and heel.
    Now, puppy training it reduces the potential dangers.

    August 20, 2014
  7. You can hide dog training Kongs filled with electronic gadgets are forbidden. Understanding is very important not only rehabilitates canine” problem children, so it is more effective than anything anyone has ever told us.

    August 20, 2014
  8. *Archangel Zadkiel: “Righteousness of God” – Angel of Divine Justice and violet flame protection; assists you with Divine Justice, burning away all that no longer serves you.
    Use Chrysoberyl to attract your creative energy and attract your creativity to you, you
    will find that the creative vibes will just flow to and thru you when you carry this
    crystal. The ability to let go of old emotions is based in this
    Chakra.

    August 21, 2014
  9. Hi there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook group?

    There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content.

    Please let me know. Many thanks

    August 22, 2014
  10. Good answer back in return of this matter with real arguments and explaining the whole thing on the topic of that.

    August 24, 2014
  11. Hi, everything is going well here and ofcourse
    every one is sharing information, that’s genuinely fine, keep
    up writing.

    August 27, 2014
  12. They are normally ingrained into the mobile game development as
    a home theater system, GamePop has yet to reveal the true skate hack item
    hidden. So they always trying to get dissection in ipad
    video converter for mac.

    September 7, 2014
  13. Have you ever considered creating an ebook or guest authoring on other blogs?
    I have a blog centered on the same subjects you discuss and would love to have
    you share some stories/information. I know my audience would value your
    work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an email.

    September 23, 2014
  14. We absolutely love your blog and find nearly all of your
    post’s to be exactly I’m looking for. can you offer guest writers to
    write content for you personally? I wouldn’t mind publishing
    a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write about here.

    Again, awesome site!

    April 12, 2015
  15. I know this site presents quality depending articles or reviews and extra material,
    is there any other web page which presents these data in quality?

    December 25, 2015

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Preschool & Kindergarten Current Openings | kidHaven – things to do with kids in New Haven

Leave a Reply

You may use basic HTML in your comments. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS